Do I have “mad skills”? No, but my skills are happy!

11 Aug

Well, this is Day One and here I am.  I am not a writer, not overly creative, but I like to create and I guess I need an outlet.  So, here we are.
Why are my skills happy?

I was trying to come up with a name for this, and everything I could think of was…well, honestly, lame.  Then it occurred to me that my kids most often encourage a new project or craft, so why not my blog name.

I thought of my JonahBear…  One night he was making burgers with Daddy in the kitchen.  JonahBear LOVES to cook, bake, anything in the kitchen!  So they were forming burgers and having boy time.  Daddy told JonahBear, “Wow, you have some MAD burger-making skills!” JonahBear, thoughtfully as always, replied, “No, Dad, my skills are happy!”

So now we’re here.  I’m a teacher, so I’ve had all summer with my kids. 2 kids under 5 can be exciting and sometimes a handful!  About a month ago, a friend showed me Pinterest.  Well, I LOVE to crochet, sew, bake, craft and DIY so of course, I was immediately hooked.  Since then, our house has been a crocheting, sewing, DIY-ing madhouse!  I just can’t stop! There are SO MANY good ideas and so little time!

Here are a few of my summer projects:
Jonah’s Monster Hat: Got the idea from etsy here.

Made this hat for a friend’s daughter: Got the pattern from aestheticnest.com.

Cool Hex Nut Bracelet (super easy, by the way) from here.

Bird Applique Tote Bag: Great tutorial from craftsnob.com.

The piece de resistance – my new skirt!!  I’ve NEVER made a skirt in my life and REALLY didn’t think it would go well, but it was surprisingly easy and now, I am the proud owner of a new skirt made by me!  If I can do it, so can you!!  Here is the tutorial!

Okay, so I’m calling it a night, but stick with me, there will be more about me and my family soon!  I may not have “mad skills”, but my skills are definitely happy and I’m here to prove that anyone with a little patience and determination can DIY with the best of them!!

-T

5 Responses to “Do I have “mad skills”? No, but my skills are happy!”

  1. NanaBread August 12, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I like “happy skills” vs “mad skills” – much more positive. That Jonah Bear is genius. Pure genius. Congrats on the new blog. Your projects turned out great. Can’t wait to see what “happy skill” comes next.

    • tforterrific August 12, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      Thanks, NanaBread! I learned from the best!! I’ve been working on some stuff for the house, so I’m excited to branch out a little! Thanks for reading!

  2. TCP August 13, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Welcome to the blogosphere! Looking forward to your future posts. BTW you have already been noticed. Go to http://kidssay.itry4u.com/?p=15860 to see where another blogger already reposted your initial post. If you really want to drive the number of readers you have up, include the following words in the title of your next post: “sex”, “chocolate cupcakes”, “free beer”. Just trying to help out a new blogger. 😉

    • tforterrific August 13, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

      Thanks, Dad! It’s always good when your Dad tries to convince you to “pimp out” your blog!! That’s cool that my first post got noticed! Thanks for reading and subscribing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rocks and Books and Birds….Oh,My! « myskillsarehappy - August 28, 2011

    […] only has Pinterest inspired my crafting, but it has infiltrated my house!!  Over the summer, I got the decorating bug and with a little […]

Leave a comment